Document my upskilling

An acquaintance of mine, Steve Jones, has challenged me to write a series of blog posts on my journey of learning how to upskill myself. This is a challenge, as I imagine much of this will be boring. I am concerned that no one will want to read this. At least it will be useful to me.

I am doing this because I’ve found that I need to upgrade some of my skills. I work in an environment where most of the developers are comfortable with not learning new (i.e.: current) skills. I don’t want to imply that they’re bad people. They are fine people, good citizens who love their families and contribute to their communities. They just aren’t interested in learning anything new. And unfortunately, it is easy to do in our environment.

But I like to learn. I pay for my own Pluralsight annual subscription, and I use it to learn current techniques. I am currently going through two Pluralsight courses, one on specifics of ASP.NET MVC in .NET 6 and another on what’s new in .NET 7. However, in this series of blog posts I’m going to describe here my learning experience in 2022. And where it takes me in 2023.

Leave a comment